House of Pandemonium - Remastered

Author: Saltyjustice
Version: Adventure 3.19
Last Updated: 2021-06-08 14:08:11


Review by MystLeissa
Version reviewed: Adventure 3.02 on 2021-02-07 17:49:39

I really like this game, the adventure mode is a story I hope I will one day be able to complete. For now I wonder how much I missed in my initial playthrough, there were obviously some optional bosses and things that I didn't quite fight (i know of atleast one I was unable to defeat). I wonder if I missed any optional party members? I only got Florina, which was something of a default. I cannot begin to describe the sense of wonder when Chapter 1 Ended, but at the same time it was a feeling of dread, because I knew it was coming far too soon for my liking. I like epics, and forgive me if I'm spoiled by other adventure games like Final Fantasy (Real History there) which are made by AAA Publishers like Squaresoft/SquareEnix but...it just seemed a little short with just Chapter 1. Additionally I might suggest to the author the idea of a "New Game Plus" for when the current chapter has been concluded, essentially allowing you to revisit the chapter with all of the gear and levels you got the first play-through.

 

I'm pretty sure waiting for a game is something dislike but...for this one I'll make an exception. I am *hooked* on this one.


Review by Skyrimkillerehh
Version reviewed: Prototype 5-3f on 2019-07-28 01:48:39

I just wanted to say I usually anticipate 90% of the games on this website to be smut, and that's usually what I look for.

 

This game is really interesting, and that Warden fight was pretty cool. I really loved Mei's story, and I am looking forward to play Chapter 5.

I am a little confused about jumping from finishing Chapter 1 to Chapter 5, but the writing is really creative, and inspired. Outstanding job making

up the story about Mei and her relations to the runestone. Your writing is really impressive, I'm going to keep playing throughout the updates for the story alone

 

Onto a criticm: The combat feels a little bland, and I don't mean this to be rude, if you added more involved abilities the combat would be more interesting

right now it just seems to be melee attack > melee attack > heal, other heal I got > melee attack (or whatever, but the majority is melee attack and then use the 4 combo point ability)

it just feels a little boring after a while. Overall the game and transformations are pretty cool.


Review by floricspacer
Version reviewed: Prototype 5-2c on 2018-08-26 00:09:33

Firstly this is a truly amazing game! if you like TF games, I'd recommend playing it with no spoilers, so skip the rest of this crazily long review. If you want an unnecessary amount of details I guess you can read on, but again, this game has some really fun exploration in chapter 1, so you should go play it. Chapter 5 is under construction, so you could play that now or wait until it's done, but chapter 1 feels totally complete and fleshed out and playable. With that said, here's a review:

 

Somehow it took me a while to try out this game, perhaps because it's not on a standard engine, and most games with custom engines don't turn out as well as one might hope. However, this game was absolutely wonderful in nearly every way.

In terms of the gameplay, I really liked it more than I thought I would. I am really not a fan of combat in RPG Maker games, and at first glance I assumed this would be similar. However, somehow the variety of actions and effects and everything else summed up to make for an engaging combat system that I really enjoyed. In chapter 1, I did feel like the combat got a bit too easy after Florentina joined the party. I suspect the reason for this is that I had gotten used to beating things with Mei alone and then Florentina represented a significant power boost, but the enemies did not become different enough to compensate. I don't know if this was just me of course, but the lack of difficulty did make combat seem more like a chore later on (with one big exception I'll mention a bit later). One other issue is that later on, many of the exciting and interesting special attacks become useless. Not useless in that you can't use them, but useless in that there is often no reason to use them when you can just spam the normal attack instead. Delayed damage through bleed and poison is interesting, but not if the battles only last 2 turns. 

The one part of the later game that I actually found challenging in an almost puzzle like way was the Warden. When I played through I didn't consult any guides or anything, so I missed the skill books in the manor, so I lacked those skills, but I thought I should still be able to take down the Warden. I was able to combine a maxed damage build for Mei and Florentina with a alraune Mei so that Mei could survive one hit, recover to full health with items and the alraune ability, and then survive another hit and kill the Warden. This took a couple attempts at different builds to get right and was really enjoyable, but the actual way makes a lot more sense than a super specific build that would screw people who had different gem choices. (I saved and loaded a couple gem loadouts to find what worked). 

However, my favorite part of chapter 1 was probably the sense of exploration that I had before I became familiar with the map. After the mostly linear section in the dimensional trap, I assumed the rest of the game would be fairly linear with some side paths too. But I was very pleasantly surprised when I was able to take the boat in the north or go to a number of different forest entrances to the south. There were a number of things to discover there that were completely unnecessary to the story, but added so much to the world. The first location I went to was the slime village, which I thought was really great. After a couple encounters with slimes I had worried that they would essentially be mindless monsters, but after going to the village, I could see that there was slime culture and friendly slimes and that they were people too. Again, this paid dividends in making the world feel real and immersive. 

Plus, the advancement options that are given out by finding good items or stat boosts very effectively rewards exploration. I tried interacting with almost every item and found a lot of things even when I didn't expect them, and some when I noticed small details that I might have ignored in another game.

The transformations themselves were great too. I liked how each one had their own scene associated with it, and especially that there were both voluntary and involuntary ways to get them. The one exception is the cat one, which requires you to fail a rescue to transform voluntarily, which seemed strange to me. Especially because Mei has her runestone and acknowledges that she might as well take every transformation possible because it doesn't cost her anything, but adds a form to her repertoire. So on my playthrough I did every transformation voluntarily except for that one, for which I needed to surrender to an enemy. (I did lose intentionally to check out as many scenes as I could though). 

The world seemed reactive to the player and their actions too. I loved the way characters would treat Mei differently depending on what form she was in and her speaking would change too. Conversation options would be different before and after a transformation or depend on what form she's in. The world actually seemed alive and not like a lifeless lump of dialogue hidden behind some NPCs that repeat the same lines over and over again. (I mean, some do that, but the world still felt alive). I tried scenes multiple different ways and really appreciated the different dialogues that felt customized to the situation when it made sense for it to change. The attention to detail is really great.

The characters were also great. I couldn't help but like Mei, with her cheerfulness and kindness. She really seemed like a heroine to root for and though she didn't change too much on her journey, I do think she learned a lot and has potential to grow in the future too. I also liked most of the side characters, like Nadia, who's jokes I liked and her goofiness was also appreciated.

My favorite character was absolutely Florentina though. Her attitude of gruffness and suspicion of the world was a good contrast to Mei's tendency to trust everyone. Her backstory though is what really makes her interesting to me. The fact that she chooses to hold onto her human memories rather than let go and become like any other alraune struck me as intensely relatable somehow. And the tragic story of her wife rejecting her after she made a hard decision to survive made me feel actually sad for her. I wish that I could help her move on or that her wife would take her back, and I think that shows that her character meaningfully connected with me. 

The little details everywhere add to the charm and exemplify the attention to detail I mentioned earlier. There are jokes on every bookshelf, unless there are skill books. And even a couple references to another great game on this site, Magical Camp! 

The art is also great, with so many unique assets and Mei's expressions for talksprites changing for each of them. 

I liked each of the little plots of the side dungeons. The ghosts in the mansion most of all, I think. It seems so eerie and different from the nearly whimsical nature of many other areas, and the plot fits that. The horror that happened there is really more than I would have expected in a game like this, but it was done well, with great build up and atmosphere. It really added to the game in a way I might not have expected. 

The overall plot was pretty simple, but the real joy of the game was in exploring and experiencing all the game had to offer. The ending was satisfying though and definitely left me looking forward to the rest of the chapters.

Overall, chapter one is probably a game that I would consider a masterpiece of this genre, ranging from great to amazing in every dimension I judge a game on. 


Chapter 5 is much more incomplete, so I won't judge it too harshly, but so far I didn't like it as much as chapter 1. This kind of surprised me because I'm usually a big fan of MTF transformations, and this chapter did that well I think. The other parts didn't quite live up to chapter 1 though in my opinion.

The drastic change of setting is interesting and appreciated. And the worldbuilding done here with the cause of science and the establishment of the moon base and some ethical dilemmas is really interesting to me. And I loved the interesting structures of their society. 

The gameplay suffers here though I think. The worst change for me was the dramatic reduction in exploration. This story is much more linear for much longer. For example, in the initial area, there are doors that are inexplicably locked until 2855 unlocks them for you. There isn't really any reason for this and it just forces the player to go down one path, return, go down another, return, and so on, rather than exploring more naturally. The game then continues to be linear until much later when you finally have the option to do side missions, and then your options are spelled out very explicitly. And once you have transformations, you can' only go certain places with certain transformations, like Regulus city is only accesible as a golem, and the outdoors is blocked for human form. This makes sense narratively, but also adds to the feeling of restriction compared to chapter 1. Perhaps this makes sense metanarratively if you want to say that Golems and everyone else on Regulus live a much more ordered life than those who live on the wilds of the frontier on Pandemonium, and this is shown through both the narrative and the narrative structure itself. I don't know if I buy that though. That could just be me though. 

There were a number of bugs I encountered, but the chapter is unfinished, so that's to be expected. I think like 8/10 bugs were near doors though, so I'd recommend checking those a bit more in the future. In particular, I'd one annoying error was when I would get stuck by going through and doorway and being behind the invisible travel line, so I couldn't move forward and if I went back I'd also be stuck. The other common one was doors being immaterial, so I could walk through them if I walked back immediately after getting through. Playing on Mac.

The way memories are handled also seemed strange to me, like does Christine's runestone also protect her memories in the same way Mei's does? If it did then I don't know why 2855 needed to create an encrypted backup of them and why the stone didn't restore them earlier. Or if it doesn't and that's particular to Mei's stone then that seems like it could cause problems in the future with so many transformations in every chapter and no explanation for the character not losing themselves? 

Regardless, I do really like the characters in this chapter. Christine is great, she is interesting and has conflict within herself in a way that Mei didn't quite have. I really liked the way that the game didn't fall into a cliche that I really dislike, where a male character becomes female and then changes their mental gender for weak reasons and doesn't get dysphoria or anything. I think it can be handled quite badly quite easily for any character that isn't a player insert. However, Christine is very clearly a trans woman, who may not have realized exactly what she was before she became a golem, but definitely acknowledged it when she did not want to become a man (she was fine being human) and was happy that her "true" form was a woman all along. And this plays well with the expectations of her family confusing her, and her family's history then also shapes how she interacts with 2855. Overall, Christine is amazing and I look forward to seeing her develop over the course of this chapter.

Sophie is just a cutie. I like how she makes herself somewhat distinct from the other slave golems (and side note: I love the differentiation between slaves and drones, where the slaves are actually conscious so they are really enslaving conscious beings, showing some great injustice in that society that people might first accept because they are robots and might not notice that it is literally slavery). The way her relationship with Christine develops is very well done and developed. The scenes can take a while, but that's probably necessary in order to get the romance to feel as real and natural as it does. Their relationship is well done as well. 

2855 is an interesting character. At first, I was curious about her, then I hated her after her forced transformation of Christine, then I was curious again, and then I forgave her and liked her. I think her character has a lot of space to grow, but I already like where she's going with her introspection about a topic that is very serious and traumatizing. This is another example of this game handling a complex and difficult topic well I think and that is a testament to the high quality of the writing in the game.

The art is very incomplete, but is great where it is, maintaining quality from chapter 1.

The combat is unfinished, so I won't judge it too harshly, but it has some interesting innovations over chapter 1, but also seemed a bit easy in most places for me and can become somewhat mindless with the same attack pattern being optimal for every fight.

Transformations are also incomplete, but I liked the scenes that are there. I look forward to being able to see people react to them in the future.


Holy crap, that is a large wall of text lol. Anyway, I'd just like to say thanks for making this masterpiece of a TF game free for everyone. It is cemented as one of the best games in the genre for me despite its flaws and I will be looking out for future developments eagerly.

Tldr; Truly amazing game, interesting plot, likable and interesting characters, good handling of transformations, absolutely amazing exploration in Chapter 1 at least, great engaging combat for the most part, really incredible attention to details, cool setting, great looking art, I love it


Review by dannydork10
Version reviewed: Prototype 5-2c on 2018-08-01 03:30:30

Really fun game, and the current Chapter 5 prototype already adds a lot of story and fun TFs in addition to Chapter 1. There's even a freaking Magical Girl shout-out in this thing! Definitely worth giving the Classic modes a chance, if the plot-based campaign isn't your cup of tea.


Review by Amandabless
Version reviewed: Adventure 1.04 on 2018-06-09 02:08:44

I would have paid for this game.


Review by Zeep
Version reviewed: Adventure 1.04 on 2018-05-19 18:55:10

I played the adventure mode chapter 1 (and checked the classic mode but had no idea how to play that and frankly wasn't interested) and it really made me realise that games with good plot and ideas with some pornographic and transformation content are more appealing rather than straight-up porn games with minimal plot. I'm a plot-guy; no not that kind of "plot".

The world and characters in this game are good, and I'm eagerly awaiting chapter 2 of the adventure mode.


Review by Jerdar
Version reviewed: Adventure 1.04 on 2018-04-29 18:35:14

An amazing game by one who I think is a fellow fan of Elona. Salty, if I had money, I would give it to you.


Review by Flaming_Potato
Version reviewed: Adventure 1.04 on 2018-02-09 23:30:22

HoP is truly wonderful. I played the original quite a while ago, and never really liked it. What good came from the concept and backstory was all but demolished by the system limitations and lack of stimulatimg gameplay. Then the new version came out, with a doom-esque 3D instead of the tiled 2D. This was a welcome improvement, but the gamemode still had its inherent flaws. Then Adventure mode came out, and they did exactly what needed to be done. They took the good parts- the characters, storyline, and setting- and left the bad behind, resulting in a formulaic yet still refreshingly new JRPG with all the fixings, including dry wit and self-referential easter eggs. The change was handled beautifully- some parts of the game are easy enough for a quick play, and some of the more in-depth ones are really hard- I'm stuck on two, myself. The TF's are varied and handled well, and the way you can essentially swap between them is a nice touch, though I would like to see that affect gameplay a bit MORE than what it does now. My only point that is slightly negative is the mismatched art- as the game has progressed, it's gotten better, but some busts look really out of place (like the NPC Alraunes). However, I know that art is f*cking hard, so I don't blame the creator for not fixing what isn't broken. 10/10, can't get these updates fast enough.


Review by hidden
Version reviewed: Adventure 1.04 on 2018-02-01 23:50:03

I don't know what the other reviewers were talking about adventure mode being boring.  I thought adventure mode was a lot of fun.  Using multiple transformations to get different reactions from characters and advancing the storyline was very fun to explore.  It felt a little bit like using the masks from Zelda: Majora's Mask.  I haven't fully finished adventure mode yet but I'm already looking forward to when you're adding new chapters and transformations, if that's the direction you're planning on taking it.


Review by w21dbb
Version reviewed: Adventure 1.04 on 2018-01-31 07:44:12

This game... WOW it is A cool little game, it has a good story and is simple enough to follow without help. Also the traransformations are not ends but a means to advance the story good work!

 

I give this game a solid A.


Review by randomperson2528
Version reviewed: Adventure 1.03 on 2017-12-27 00:25:42

I found myself playing Adventure mode for the characters and the story and at I won't lie, at times it felt a little boring. Good job on the writing it was a lot of fun and I can't wait for the rest of the Chapters for Adventure mode.


Review by icecold1039
Version reviewed: Adventure 1.03 on 2017-11-18 21:28:50

It's a good game, but adventure mode got a bit boring, however that may have been my fault.


Review by timberwolf511
Version reviewed: Adventure 1.03 on 2017-10-30 22:41:07

first off i want to say i love this  game both in adventure mode corrupter most and 3d classic now one thing i noticed and i don't know if this is a glitch or not but when you play corrupter mode then go to 3d classic you can actually use some of the powers from the race you chose in corrupter i kinda like that make it fun you can attack your non monster allies hehe

 

ps "i just want to tell you both good luck we're all counting on you" :)


Review by Kijuma
Version reviewed: Adventure 1.02 on 2017-10-25 11:03:18

Ok soooo...

this will be less of a review and more of a praise to both the developer and author and (possible?) composer.

 

I absolutely adore the writing, overall feeling and the music choosen for the adventure part of House of Pandemonium - Remastered.

Also those few insider eastereggs I could find, were brilliantly placed and I think they can be found relatively easy as well,

with the most recent one I came across very near the end of Mai's storyline. (Bill Wurtz is all I'm saying.

 

There was a minor bug that caught my attention however:

The Quantir Estate - Sewer Levels had a bit of an issue transferring the party to the correct position *after* changing levels, but I'm sure this will be resolved in a later update so it will be alright I guess.

Now...if you're thinking that you are now trapped down there and have to restart the entire game *I can reasure you that is not the case* from the position where you spawn,

fight your way south until you reach stairs going up - in the south of the tiny room you've now entered is a metal gate you can pass through - you are now outside agian.

 

All in all I'm looking forward to the next row of character/s that will have their story be told and can only recommend others to try out the game themselfs.

It is well worth the look Beehind it's title and cover, hehe.

 


Review by aaaac
Version reviewed: Adventure 20170619 on 2017-09-21 14:56:10

This is a much changed version of house of pandemonium. I didn't like the original version because it was unwinnable by design. This new version is a more traditional adventure, where the protagonist gets transported to another world. The writing is darling, the protagonist is charming and the transformation scenes are well written with a good number of transformations. Uniquely the game doesn't end when you get transformed, instead you get to run around in your transformed form.

 

The gameplay is fun and there have been pretty constant updates. The developer has been very responsive to suggestions.

 

I have a few complaints about the game, mostly the combat and the fact that you can run past most encounters. But there is a major update coming and the developer claims these issues have been fixed.

 

I recommend this game as a fun little diversion. Fair warning it’s not structured around sexual content, it’s structured around transformation content. There is a little bit of sex but it’s pretty sparse.

 

In conclusion, this game is good and deserve more attention.


Review by RedGhost
Version reviewed: 1.60a on 2017-01-03 09:02:54

v1.60a:

I understand this game better now with the survival of your own humanity against every other person, where you can just look solely after yourself and leave the rest to be captured and changed. Or (with very specific circumstances and situations) possibly save another character with a Remedy or Elixir; I was never able to successfully trigger either at all though despite many playthroughs.

I like the new map layout compared to the old one, but you are still killing time waiting for the difficulty to get higher unless you fluke cursed items that cause a change and then use them on other NPCs (e.g. cowbell collar, fairy ring, etc) by giving them to the other NPCs. Interactivity is still "go walking around, find stuff, use common sense and look for a chainsaw as soon as possible" for the best chance of survival when you are leaving the other girls to their fate. You can also mess with some of the non-threatening NPCs (such as a cowgirl) by milking them, but when you hit the lowest willpower there is no transformation penalty for it. Also oddly, after making them "happy" they don't follow you to assist but instead keep wandering; I thought this was odd.

Graphics used for the transformation sequences are good for this version, but I found myself wondering why the transformations happened immediately or enslaved your mind to make you go to a specific spot to make them happen immediately. Slow transformations I have not seen in this game much other than when you are caught on a forced transformation (plant girl, mermaid, golem, harpy, etc) when being forced to go to a specific spot or lose a fight and get transformed on the spot. This is quibbling though; what is possible through the transformations into monsters is very high.

I did not keep playing this game after more than one hour of attempts, because by that time I had had enough of trying to beat the high scores or play Corruption Mode. Honestly I thought I had seen it all and was bored.

Cautiously recommended. Some players may only find a short amount of enjoyment with this game, but for what has been done in its long development it deserves praise and much respect.

 

v0.60a:

Still unable to make a call on this game. I found the interface still clumsy to use with SugarCube regularly crashing for a few seconds whenever I went into the main menu to make a special choice when I was transformed into a monster and it is still dull when you start with nothing to do but laps of the dungeon waiting for the difficulty to increase.

Please continue.

 

v0.25a:

I had difficulty getting immersed in the game in it's current stage of development. The interface seemed clumsy, but as this is a very early version I can handle that as this still has a lot of work to go.

The scene seemed alright and the enemies with their linked TFs was different, but I think I should wait until a later version before giving a solid call on this game.

Please continue.


Review by zerocatch22
Version reviewed: 1.40a on 2016-12-06 05:32:35

I like this game, but it doesn't feel quite finished yet. The 3D interface is simple, but runs smoothly and is fairly easy to understand, although a control diagram somewhere in the game would be nice (I had trouble figuring out how to skip turns since the old "skip" button clickable area was removed, but I figured it out eventually).

The game is entirely functional, but at the moment is a little light on graphic content. The TF scenes are all there, but items all use the same sprite (a sword, a pitchfork, and a chainsaw are all represented by a sword image, for example), but it is otherwise perfectly servicable.

There's no explicit sex in the game, but there is a lot of nudity. All of the transformations are "monster girl" style transformations (none of them are entirely animalistic with little things like ears changing) and they really don't go quite far enough for my personal tastes, but again that's just my preference and not really the game's focus. There are few enemies that just enslave your character with "mental changes," and while it thankfully isn't every enemy in the game, it is just a little bit disappointing there aren't more physical changes to accompany them.

Still, for what it is this game is much improved over the earlier versions and I like where it's heading.


Review by scouts
Version reviewed: 1.20a on 2016-11-30 16:46:14

The remastered house of pandemonium like the orginal is very good and i enjoy playing alot. Plus it runs alot faster. I might be getting ahead of myself but maybe in future updates add more monsters to transform into and maybe a male character.

Either way fun to play and keep up good work :D


Review by Illanya
Version reviewed: 1.00a on 2016-09-23 19:05:55

I like the game, but even altough the game status says completed, it really doesnt feel much as such.

what I miss:

- The original game had a score system to atleast give some sort of purpose to keep playing, the remaster has no target at all. It would be very nice to dress up this game a bit more (challenges, unlockables, story mode).

- The balance bewteen mobs seems way off. Some are very powerfull and one spawn can instantly turn a map to hell instantly while other a ganked in reverse by the human side.

- Does the nymph work properly as intended? All other mobs, and some items, all have to power to transform you into one of their races (or in case of an item into an all new race). In comparison the nymphs pretty much dont. All they do is put some willpower stress on all humans in the area they are in and when your will is low enough they enslave you for a bit, but that only temporary. It seems they miss to option to turn their target fully into on of their own, which is a shame in my eyes. Also in the face of my previous comment, nymphs are a total pushover as they can't dispatch enemies.

- In the remaster the game plays waaaay quicker as the original. Mobs seem to wipe over the human side way faster in the remaster. This could be because you hardly get any support items like hp en will potions in the remaster. Its basicly your basic starting HP pool and thats it, until you are transformed and only get KOed for some time if you run out of HP. it makes the game feel less like a survival game, more like i hope i draw a nice weapon the first chest i come across, so i can live a bit longer. Or maybe add some baseline HP recovery to health to, like willpower has. 

All this in the end in one sentence: The game as it is now feels to me more like a solid core engine for a game, rather than a complete game at all.


Review by Unicron9999
Version reviewed: 0.50a on 2016-02-29 19:55:12

The addition of the option to change the resolution made it go from good to great. I love the buttons and I hope to see more from you! 

Great job!


Review by therandomestpersons
Version reviewed: 0.25a on 2016-01-17 14:26:23

the new interface is a bit....interesting and some of the monster functionality seems to be missing along with their hp values and stuff. hopefully you can add those in soon, was pretty good all things considered