Lewd Science

Author: DarkSinfulMage
Version: 0.4.2
Last Updated: 2017-04-12 06:28:14


Review by Djilliaris
Version reviewed: 0.4.2 on 2017-04-13 15:50:20

Simple and clear advice: if you want a lot of clicks, do it simply.

Within one click.

This is not difficult, to make the button "spend actions in search in the lab", for example.

Do it comfortably, seriously.


Review by Cr0me
Version reviewed: 0.4.1 on 2017-04-10 12:24:44

Don't have much to say 'bout this game that hasn't been said already. The concept alone would work great if it wasn't for all the tedious clicking and extremely slow progression with anything and everything.

 

Oh, and Natural Growth seems a bit borked at the moment. Every time I start and get past the first day, both my character and the "experiment" inexplicably become the peaks of physical perfection and then some...


Review by FAFNSucks
Version reviewed: 0.2.2a on 2017-03-25 05:15:53

This game really frustrates me. Mostly because I wish it could be better.

The concept this game has, has the potential to be one of the greatest TF games of all time. A scientist who has a ton of weird machines and substances, has to go through an RPG like system slowly building up their base and writing down knowledge of transformative materials they find. They can choose to either transform their partner or themselves, and there's a trust and dominance system going between the two. It's a great idea.

However, it's innately tedious by design. The game has this day/night feature, but all it does is clog up the menus and having the user click additional times. If you want to have events where you go to sleep, just have ONE event saying "you go to sleep for the night" and maybe some sex or dreams or whatever you want to throw in there. This makes the game a slog combined with the grinding for materials and substances you have to do. I don't mind the research point grind- I actually think it's quite fair. However, the grinding for substances is painful, especially so when you want to save them for a super serum and your partner keeps using them. Every day you wake up -> go through 2-3 menus to do want to do -> game tells you it's changing time -> get sent back to house so you have to go through another 2-3 menus, etc. The fact that the game balance is super slow kills it and makes doing this not fun. Ironically it seems the developer couldn't even be bothered to make a proper debug menu as you can't change certain aspects of your body like your gender and your partner's breasts (and if they have a dick or not) forcing you to grind for materials to do this.

You can do a lot of stuff to you and your partner, but it all seems pointless. You can make your partner dumb, but all this does is break all their dialogue so they don't say anything and make them start breaking machines costing time and money. I understand it's an alpha, but even if the dialogue was there, there doesn't seem to be a benefit for it. I'm all for connecting gameplay to kinks, and a brain drain type kink making mistakes at the lab higher makes sense, but there is no positive. Maybe more willing to sex acts? You can turn into a female, but again, nothing happens. You just are now able to go more places to do nothing. Lactation is implemented, but other than a single line of text, it doesn't matter.

The writing for this game is also more in line with corruptions of champions writing rather than a text based story game. Descriptions of your characters are utilitarian and very to the point. This is fine in Corruptions of Champions because the detailed sex scenes using your body parts makes up for it, but in this game it seems to be the only reward you get for doing your science since the whole point is to transform things. Therefore, even in an alpha there should be a bit more detail in all of the character descriptions instead of just watching your test subject go from "[...]Has a flat chest." to "[...]Has A cup breasts, very small in comparison to normal". Nothing exciting happens in this game to reward the player.

As for the fact that it's an alpha, in it's current state it is completly filled to the brim with bugs and breaks more often than not. So stay away if you want even a remotely polished game.

All in all I see the framework for a great, erotic TF game here, but it's shot in the foot by it's own design and writing. I suggest the developer think over some of the things that makes this boring to play.


Review by newport_georgeg
Version reviewed: 0.2.2a on 2017-03-24 14:56:54

Just some coding stuff:

Edit with Notepad++

https://notepad-plus-plus.org/download

==========

Bug: Missing closed parenthesis in

Line 7143
<<set $partner_Limit_Sexy to ($t_EarnedPartner_Sexy += 1)>>

Line 7172
<<set $b_Limit_Sexy to ($b_Limit_Sexy += 1)>>

============

Typo:
partner is misspelled as parnter 5 times

======

Suggestion:

Start each tw-passagedata start and end tags on a new line
1. Edit in Notepad++
2. Ctl H (Search/Replace)
turn on Extended
Find what: <tw-passageda
Replace with: /n/n<tw-passageda
Replace All
3. Ctl H (Search/Replace)
turn on Extended
Find what: </tw-passageda>
Replace with: /n</tw-passageda>
Replace All


Review by sathirran
Version reviewed: 0.2.1 on 2017-03-23 19:06:59

This game is very tedious. Way too many clicks are required to do anything. Most of the features seem to be broken or not implemented yet at all. It's difficult to make any progress whatsoever, and the time is definitely not well spent. There is no payoff. This is the only sexual content I have been able to find: "You engage in an act of sex with [Name]. [Name] acts very normal, sometimes changing positions as you find ways to enjoy each other." The writing couldn't be more bland and nondescript if it tried.


Review by fixsxd
Version reviewed: 0.2.1 on 2017-03-23 12:25:26

A game of full of promises to the future. None fullfiled so far. Place holder cunami Warning!


Review by Sunshine105
Version reviewed: 0.2.0 on 2016-12-10 19:42:18

I see a lot of potential in this game, well done so far!

I'd like to see how you're going to evolve the story around the transformations.

One thing I'd like to see is a smoother user experience: the menu is hard to navigate and makes what should be the most fun part in the game a tedius task.

Keep up with this style of writing, seems you're doing well.


Review by ADIDAS
Version reviewed: 0.2.0 on 2016-12-10 07:35:05

This game is good and what writing there is is descriptive enough to convey a connection with the character you have control over. But this has so much more potential if the creator would just go outside the box that he's currently locked himself in. For instance you can make trips to town and go to a night club, but no sexual relations to speak of in your new found female body. Currently the only sexual content is bodily descriptions and self masturbation. Another idea is instead of abrubtly ending to the end when your will or arousal reaches critical is to place the player in a situation where Merlin returns to the Lab and has his way with his new sexy assistant.


Review by zeus kabob
Version reviewed: 0.1.4 on 2016-09-12 14:33:53

The lack of hotkeys in this game make it very tedious to play.  There are 25 combinations of serum/inhibitor, and each combination requires 4 clicks for collection, 4 clicks for serum creation, and 5 clicks for application.  All of this totals out to over 300 clicks just to test the basic serum/inhibitor combinations. 

 

Adding hotkeys to the game would significantly improve it.


Review by Kaizon
Version reviewed: 0.1.4 on 2016-08-14 11:52:09

As of update 0.1.4, this games shows a lot of promise, I look forward to seeing it fleshed out.

There are some issues, like missing text, red error bands, and what appear to be incomplete sentences, but it is also an incredibly early release. Based on the premise, it looks like it could prove to be a tremendous amount of fun as it progresses, so I suggest keeping an eye on this one and checking it out!


Review by RedGhost
Version reviewed: 0.0.9 on 2016-05-27 12:33:35

v0.0.9:

Still too early in development for me to make a proper review. Previous review still valid.

 

v0.0.7:

I'm enjoying it so far, but with it being still in its early days of development it's difficult to properly review at this time with the bugs and dead end processes.

I like the premise of the game and the options available for manipulation of both the PC and NPC, as well as justified penalities for stupid risks. But other than that I'll need to wait for a later developed release to review this further.

Worth a look.


Review by xvibex
Version reviewed: 0.0.6 on 2016-03-14 10:42:44

Havent played very long but I already see the game requiers an imediate version update devoted solely to bug fixes.

Infinite loops with the back button. string errors with transformation effects. Research points randomly fluctuating, going up, down, and most destressing - blank. 

 

There is even a noticeable error in your own start description "You are currently a male that is 5'3" tall. Your skin is peach and your short hair is brown . Your face is a breathtaking and beautiful face

Your IQ is currently 124

female"

The description just cuts off, and randomly says female.

 

I also dont see the point of a day system so far unless it offers some sort of 'refresh' on your partner when overwhelming her with changes she might not be so keen on. Which could just simply be offered in smaller amounts after each action. Because without some sort of point the day system is just annoying if there is no time limit. Debug increase and decrease trust both decrease trust.

 

Most stuff doesnt work properly or is broken.

 

This is a long way off from being usefully functional.


Review by Danaume
Version reviewed: 0.0.5 on 2016-03-13 12:20:06

While this is an interesting game, with lots of promise, there are several problems with it.

1: There are a lot of situations where you get stuck in loops. The back button goes back to the last screen, not to the home screen, which means that if you go from one thing to another, you can't change your mind, you are locked in a loop, and if there are no options in either window you can pick from, you literally get stuck, which requires activating the debug mode to get out of, and you can't turn off the debug mode.

2: The game is very grindy, with only 3 actions a day, and those actions being very limited, you spend a lot of time just running back and forth to the lab. This isn't bad per se, but with such small changes at the begining of the game, it can feel like you aren't actually doing anything.

3: There are no notes of what all the different compounds do after you research them or use them. A note system would help, as the inventory shows a VAST number of potential compounds.

4: A lot of the options are available, but don't appear to do anything. I got the blender, so I made two powders to combine, but it won't actually LET me combine them, so I don't know if I have the wrong powders, or if the blender isn't implimented yet, or what. More detail on machines, or how they work would be great.

5: There are lots of grammar problems and wording issues in the game. This isn't a horrible thing, but it clearly needs some love and attention to make things seem more fluid and less choppy.

That said, I believe the author of this game has a neat idea in place, with more details, more care to how the game is assembled, and more experience, I think this will turn into a fantastic game!


Review by SirJahar
Version reviewed: 0.0.5 on 2016-03-13 12:10:22

Interesting so far, but you get stuck on the reaserch screen with no way to return to the lab or home. Going to be keeping an eye on this one.


Review by Daishi
Version reviewed: 0.0.5 on 2016-03-13 11:56:16

Would it be possible to have a download server that isn't completely awful?