Interns of Ecstasy Island

Author: UsagiTripleSix
Version: 0.220
Last Updated: 2019-10-13 19:40:58


Review by mollydeal
Version reviewed: 0.220 on 2019-10-16 12:45:08

tried this game and it left me disapointed, the storyline is not smooth going from one direction to other, on pluss side it does have potential to be good game if storyline is smooth out and have more of direction to to the choices you have are good but seem have little impact on the game itself you need see more of impact of choices you make.


Review by Noknet
Version reviewed: 0.220 on 2019-10-15 18:41:51

The game is actually getting new content.  It needs more (I end up holding the Control button to get through text that doesn't tell me anything new - a lot of content is "you went to the club.  You went back to your room"), but the game is clearly advancing, which is good to see.


Review by Blauz.
Version reviewed: 0.220 on 2019-10-15 13:51:34

This is a steadily growing, very well made, very well planned and beautifully executed game that I have been playing on an off since the first post. I would like to thank the builder for all the hard work. 

Having seen the game grow from the beginning I am astonished how many options there are in the game now and impressed by the variants the game offers. Working on a game that long and growing it that far is impressive in my opinion. 
I can wholeheartedly recommend trying this game. 


Review by Nemo
Version reviewed: 0.181 on 2019-05-07 13:42:37

(Edited)

The author is building a very nice engine but it's not much of a game.  There's no branching to speak of and little story content past the initial transformation.  I keep seeing updates for this but they are all in the nature of 'hey I improved <insert minor UI change here>'.  

The author appears to have gotten a bit too ambitious in terms of features to the detriment of fun.

I'd really like to see some additional content- what there is is very good but very scarce on the ground- and some form of choice and consequence in the game. 

One suggestion:  instead of randomizing casual encounters during this stage of the build, I suggest making them present sequentially.  Having to run through placeholder text repeatedly to ensure you've seen all the content isn't fun when there isn't very much content to be seen.

 

 


Review by Eschation
Version reviewed: 0.180 on 2019-04-16 05:56:57

Here's the thing, Usagi. Somewhere, I recall seeing you say Motel S was an inspiration. Motel S is a very incomplete game... but you can still do things. You can explore. You can corrupt your character and her two friends. You can corrupt them all at different speeds and get different reactions. You can see there are many different paths to the game. Motel S, for all its incompleteness, still offers a lot to the player.

Your game... has approximately none of that. There's little indication that your actions mean anything. You get litte-to-no sense of what's going on, or that you're corrupting your character.

I am waiting... waiting... waiting... for a content update that actually interests me enough to pick this game up again. I've played through all available content 3-4 times in the past, and it gets very repetitive to skip through all of that looking for new stuff. It has been, at least, months since I've wanted to pick it up again.

Consider this: If your update doesn't add anything new or substantive for the player to warrant picking the game back up again... why update? What are we, the players, getting out of your update?

To be clear, I love the idea of your game, but I hate how you're releasing it. It feels like a slow death every time I see there's an update, but then I go look and there's nothing remotely interesting about the update.


Review by cecilmcgee
Version reviewed: 0.171 on 2019-04-13 19:24:00

It's not bad, but I'm wondering why there are so many likes. Am I missing something? It's feels like a good idea that didn't come to fruition.


Review by Carowsonge
Version reviewed: 0.170 on 2019-03-17 03:50:15

Hi!

I like this game, keep up the good work! Don't listen to idiots, who didn't even make one game, yet they are high in heaven.

 

And for those who comment on the speed of the development: Try and make your own game, and then you will realise how fking long time it is to finish it. And game engine really matters. The more sophisticated the looks, and core, the more time it will need to be made. You should be grateful for the relatively fast releases, there are games on the site, which are updated once or twice a year, or abandoned even though they had great potential. You must realize, this is just a game, made totally free, the author doesn't encase it behind a paywall, everybody gets the update when it gets out.

And if it didn't need android version, then it would have more time, for other parts of the project, but some want to play ontheir phones too.....


Review by TRCamozze
Version reviewed: 0.170 on 2019-03-16 13:10:06

This game is what brought to this site and I used to love it. Yes, used to. After playing a lot of other games here I started seeing the laws with this game: choices don't really matter, no major story updates, too many updates fixing or adding stuff that feel pointless, changing the MC model to an ugly pale corpse. I still like this but goddammit it's hard to follow this and see little change over time.


Review by nexvinco
Version reviewed: 0.132 on 2018-11-25 05:17:13

I want to like this game. Everything in it promises an excellent and well written story. The problem is that is exactly what it is, a story. Not a single one of your choices makes any difference to the copy-and-paste railroad of words that this is made up of.

 

The problem this auther has is that they keep padding out what is already there, instead of advancing the story and adding in some meaningful choices that have obvious differences. To use a crude term, this game needs more length, not endless girth.

 

The other problem is while there is a tiny bit of tf in this game, it is completly hidden and requires you to make a totally not obvious choice to get the ball rolling, and even if you make that choice you are still at the mercy of the stupid RNG events thing that make up 90% of the 'game' so far and is totally skippable once you have read it once.

 

The other bit that pisses me off is the stupid dream sequence where you do nothing but pick some shapes, no explanation at what they are supposed to mean so really you have no choice in the matter, and again this 'choice' makes no difference to the remainder of the game.

 

I really pity the shmuks that actually give money to this, because as far as I can see this is going absolutely nowhere, and no amount of bragging about word count can detract from the fact that this game hasnt advanced in any meaningful way.

 

My advice to anyone looking at this would be to download it, read through the well written story then delete it and forget about it. As a novel, its good. A game it is not, nor will it ever be.


Review by Loken1103
Version reviewed: 0.131 on 2018-11-12 06:24:01

Text walls, limited choices, lesbian spam, overwriting the decisions of the player, and being generally boring limit this game considerably. Should really be a HTML game as there no animation to speak of and all of the characters are just pictures of characters in Honey Select but instead it's a really slow extremely limited novel that doesn't seem to know what to do with topic. If you want people to read a book write fanfiction.


Review by lethiela
Version reviewed: 0.121 on 2018-09-14 17:46:09

I like this game a lot, all I really wish is that, instead of time and energy going away when you've done all the events you can in one place, it'd be nice if it'd instead repeat some events, like being able to hook up in the club again. Was kind of disappointed by the lack of MF sex I encountered, but that might've been bad luck. Anyway, game's awesome, hoping to see more of it in the future. ♥


Review by captplague
Version reviewed: 0.121 on 2018-09-13 12:21:37

Game is excellent on its face with a ludicrous amount of potential - the only issue is it needs alot of refinement before its complete and its still lacking in the playability factor that makes me even want to start a game in the first place. The skeleton is there, but the organs have yet to fully develop. That said, its shaping up to be an amazing work of love.

1. The game has TF elements... supposedly? - these are either ridicuously difficult to find or basically impercievable to the charachters appearance or gameplay mechanics. These really need to be fleshed out quick because the enjoyment of altering your charachter is basically lost. I understand the "rogue like" element but after 12 plays I havent seen a single change other than hair color.

2. Masterbation exists, but it serves no purpose as of yet.

3. Sex is almost impossible unless you pick all the right answers for a few specific

4. There are all these puzzles and interactions that basically lead to dead ends and never go anywhere that I can tell.

 


Review by manarak
Version reviewed: 0.121 on 2018-09-12 08:25:09

I really appreciate this game, it is well done!

 

BUT: both mediafire and 4shared propagate malware, please use another hoster for your files, MEGA or Microsoft


Review by sprzeterobs
Version reviewed: 0.110 on 2018-08-23 11:39:47

I might go against the tide here but I don't reallly like this game. I mean the graphics are great, language is as good as ever and there is content for couple of hours of playing but at the same time not much happens during that time. I kept going through walls and walls of text just to discover series of completely mundane and pointless scenes. Most of your desciscions don't seem to matter neither short nor long run. There are a couple of interesting characters but you almost never get to interact with them besides some small talk. And it's kinda ironic because MC doesn't seem to be into small talk at all... When you're working it's just that most of the time. You're just working. You get three paragraphs about washing the dishes, or four about vacuuming... Sometimes you make some decision to use headphones during vacuuming but that changed nothing. I just got a paragraph about what kind of music there was. No matter how hard I tried to get into trouble no one seemed to give a shit. It's disappointing really because the game keeps hinting here and there about something interesting happening but it never quite gets there. Jobs are sold as something that could require some skill, luck or intuition from MC/player but the're is no actual game in them. There was some hint that weekly revews might happen... and then nothing. MC is not rewarded for embracing the changes, nor punished for rejecting them (nor the other way around). But there's always another linear paragraphs about some mundane task...

 

I don't know, maybe I'm playing this wrong and I didn't find the interesting bits of the story. If so the gameplay would benefit greatly from some walkthrough with at least couple of hints how to go about playing it. 


Review by JoeW
Version reviewed: 0.091 on 2018-06-17 09:46:49

New comment. The game is still filling in the branches internal branches like leaves in the interior of a Bush, but not getting bigger. By that I mean the number of days hasn't increased since .051b. 

 

There is a lot more content and the graphics are expanding. Beginning to see more hints of the dark side of the resort. The female investor's comment about bottling  what have the MC nearly perfect skin was taken as a joke but is it a joke?

 

One is beginning to see mental tf changes in the MC but doesn't seem to directly linked to interactions with NPCs. I would have thought after interacting with Mr. Palmer and A, the MC would have thought about that interaction and how it made her feel and her thoughts when seeing those people again. But there are so many possible NpCs and locations ti interact with the writing has to be very complex. 

 

I would love to see another week added soon. But it seems more fill in of the present game (more like an interactive novel) will dominate the next few updates.


Review by TotallySane
Version reviewed: 0.081 on 2018-05-25 15:11:37

One of my favorite games on this site. The story well written, also the images used are very fitting and setting a great tone for the game.

To be honest the updates are pretty slow, but the most important thing to me is that the author doesn't lose motivation. Even if it takes 5 years, but if it get's finished with same content quality level it started with, it will be a masterpiece.

It's part of my evening prayer.


Review by SerenStars
Version reviewed: 0.071 on 2018-05-10 15:36:42

I hope to see more coming for this game, it's very well done concerning writing, story, and graphics. Even in early development, it offers a vast amount of fun encounters from making friends, to uncovering the mystery behind this strange island. I highly recommend this game, as even still in development, it offers a fresh experience for those who play it that many other games on this platform don't.


Review by Carrera
Version reviewed: 0.062 on 2018-03-31 20:37:03

I've been following the game for a while, it has advanced much in some ways, but in others it has come to a grinding halt and stagnated for ages.

 

It has about as much content as it did when it first popped up,a little more, but not much. At the pace development is proceeding it's really no longer worth following.

 

I rate it a "meh".


Review by soldatoflife
Version reviewed: 0.051 on 2018-01-14 13:05:53

Awesome story that permits to go all out or be true to yourself. You even have an option to take none-alchohol based drinks from start to finish and still end up having fun, which is also true in real life :) 

Graphics are high quality and feel professionally made. I've played a few Japanese visual novels (X-Change series, Yume Miru Kusuri: A Drug That Makes You Dream, True Love and a few others) and your work has just as much an interesting take on a story done well. Excited to see the days off filled in and how the story fully unfolds. There are already hours worth of story in here and I didn't expect so much alredy done. 

For an incomplete game, I say give this one a go!


Review by aegis7
Version reviewed: 0.051 on 2018-01-14 04:13:42

One of the best games on the site. Both the writing and the custom models are top notch, and the TF is slow and quite detailed. You will likely not be disappointed by the start, especially if you have a preference for procedural TGs. 

The one complaint I have is that, at the moment, this game is very linear. It's effectively a visual novel, which while very well done, does not have much replayability at the moment. adding to this, after the TG there is a hard limit of content to explore. However, these are both being actively addressed through updates, so I look forward to this game's continued development. 

One feature I would be interested in seeing here would be some greater level of control over your character. I understand this will likely be implemented in the upcoming TFs, but even options as simple as hair, eye and skin color for the starting character would improve the game, IMO. This would probably require no small amount of coding to retroactively add these as variables, and the modeling might be problematic in ways I can't forsee, but giving the player greater control over their character would make this game even better. 


Review by UsagiTripleSix
Version reviewed: 0.040 on 2017-12-30 22:14:02

[Author Post] I just wanted to take a moment to respond to Anaximander64's review.

(A Quick update: I regret to inform anyone looking forward to velociraptors that they are not in the current build of the game, as it was a temporary ending. It (or other zany dream endings) may return in future updates)

Original response follows:

The worst reaction a creator can get from their audience is apathy, so a review like yours tells me that there was at least enough potential to the game that you were upset to see it wasted. So I appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts.

To be fair, if I were in your position, I'm certain I would have the exact same complaints. I avoid most early-alpha style games for this very reason, and it's why I used the exaggerated version numbering scheme that I did: to let anyone who decides to play it know that I don't consider Interns to be in a state that's anywhere near a complete, playable experience.

So, to anyone else reading: I welcome anyone who wants to play and provide feedback, but as of version 0.040 (and for a good deal of the future) please don't expect anything resembling a complete game.


Addressing the actual criticism:
I agree with everything you pointed out. My goal at the onset was to tackle the life simulator style of game while trying to find a way to prevent it from being too much of a boring grind.

What I had originally planned and what the game is right now are very different things, however, as it's developed somewhat organically due to my lack of experience at creating this type of game, along with my propensity to write a lot of copy without editing it. The fun, sex-filled romp I had wanted to make has gotten a bit bogged down.


I've made a forum post that goes into more detail on all of this...

The short of it is that it's the way it is because there are a lot of things that are missing.
-What's in the game right now are a lot of mundane events created originally as placeholders while I worked on the schedule system.

-I have much more planned for sex encounters, body transformation, mind control and other manipulation, but there's a lot more work I need to do on all of those parts before they're ready to go in...so, the erotic fantasy content just isn't in there yet.

-When everything else is worked out, I plan to have many more scene variations created, so that you hopefully won't be seeing the same events each and every time.


I can't say when the game will be in a state where I think it will be enjoyable to play as something more than just to see the novelty of its creation, but I'll likely make special note of it (perhaps that will be version 0.1). Until then, thanks for giving it a try and providing feedback on what's currently in the game!


Review by FollowBob
Version reviewed: 0.021 on 2017-09-03 07:27:28

EDIT: An explination to others commenting, there is no sound in the free version yet so its not a bug, the raptors are not canon just a tool for the end of the current content.

Love the game, it does a great job of creating the main character even though ultimatly at this stage of development none of the meaningful relationships have really done more thna be introduced. On the other hand givent he limited content at this stage the slight random element drives me a little nuts... I've done the exact same thing but gotten a fun event or met a character and now I can't recreate it. On the flip side the variation in the jobs is nice as it makes for differnt playthouhgs, I just wish it was "random" based off player choices you could understand and redo, instead of something like a dice roll or names used.


Review by TheeSpongeman
Version reviewed: 0.020c on 2017-08-26 15:03:46

At the moment, I'm not getting any music or sound. Playing on pc. I go into the audio files and it says they are displayed as adobe files of some sort.

 

 

This is more than a concept. I'd say it's a teaser. It's got great picture, awesome dialouge, and hell, I'll admit I felt like I was acutally the person they were talking too. The choices weren't stupidly far fetched, they were logical responses. Something games don't have these days oddly enough. But whatever, point is this game needs to be done! And we can't rush them! They have talent, but remember, trying to rush a good thing can lead to a big letdown. Duke Nukem.


Review by Moleister
Version reviewed: 0.020c on 2017-08-02 16:27:42

Cinda weird, and what's up with the sudden velociraptors?? 


Review by Golgo4
Version reviewed: 0.020c on 2017-06-18 17:28:54

Where the hell did the velociraptors come from?!  


Review by foxdsx
Version reviewed: 0.020c on 2017-06-14 18:33:13

Hi

The story and the system starts to mature a bit a bit slow but oh well.

Is it a game? NOPE without goal, start progress and endgame. Its an interactive story a colorfull one no less.

Adult/tf content moderate but detailed the target is YOU.

Have fun reading it :)


Review by Kasaix
Version reviewed: 0.011b on 2017-06-04 21:29:05

I wasn't expecting the raptor at the end. I also didn't run into any sex scenes, so I might've made some poor choices. Was hoping to get Cynthia with that kiss option, but it didn't play out. If you could provide a hint like "There might be something fun going on at the pool area" when given a choice to leave the room or "maybe something fun will happen if you stay in the room". Overall, it was still a solid game, and I hope to see an update soon.


Review by RedGhost
Version reviewed: 0.011 on 2017-02-14 13:25:54

v0.011:

I was hoping for more transformation content to follow on what I saw in v0.004, but unfortunately there wasn't anything new there. Still the additional story and interaction content was very good and there is a random encounter element that I've stumbled across now (unsure if it is tied to any specific choices... I've only been able to cause it to happen twice on ten playthroughs).

Overall this is still recommended by me!

 

v0.004:

While I normally dodge Ren'Py games as they tend to be endless click-fest repetitions that cycle around in a boring loop, I thought I would give this game a try based on the screencrops provided in the description... and I was pleasingly surprised by what I found.

The images in the game were impressive and the writing used was very good, setting the scene well and giving many of the characters you interact with life and substance. Your own avatar even has some background writing to them (based on your initial choices at the start of the game) that are mentioned throughout your playthrough to add to the moment of a scene.

Interaction in the game is minimal at this stage with there being a lot of reading during this introduction phase before the TF that is in the story kicks in, but I did not mind too much because the writing was solid enough for me to wait it out and see where it lead into. I am unsure at this point how your initial choices in this introduction phase affect your avatar's physical appearance, but we will no doubt find out in time as more updates happen with this game.

Honestly I am very impressed by what I played and can accept the current length of the story as a good taste of things to come. I look forward to seeing the future developments of this story and the eventual expansion of transformation options promised.

Recommended.


Review by CarnifexOmega
Version reviewed: 0.010 on 2017-02-01 20:06:14

$5 paywall. I understand Patreon and all, but generally find that content locked behind paywalls shouldn't even be listed here - otherwise it just comes across as fishing for advertising.

Previous versions were enjoyable enough, but please let us know when it's publically available - there was a signficant gap between updates so this kinda feels like a non-update since the last version :(


Review by robdabaker
Version reviewed: 0.010 on 2017-02-01 13:40:21

Current version is behind a $5 pay wall. i'm not against the use and promotion of Patreon here but on tfgs the advertised current version should be the public release not the paid.


Review by Syranium
Version reviewed: 0.004 on 2016-12-11 12:22:14

Really nice game. I hope you keep up with the good work!


Review by Theacds
Version reviewed: 0.004 on 2016-10-12 02:19:51

I don't know how much tf content this game has, as I have not played the last update, but I can say that this game's story and progression are real nice. Maybe it's my bias to story heavy visual novels, but this game hit all the right notes of:

Allowing me enough choice with, like, sex and stuff
Replayability
Making me feel invested
Presenting things in a logical and fair way

Downsides I had were how long this game could be, some rng occurences (thought that might be a plus for some~), and, again, lack of, like, jack off content, but I haven't played in like a month so that might no longer be a valid point (and, also, that's kind of a subjective thing to begin with.) All in all, considering how often this game updates and how nice the writing's been, I would recommend to near anyone who likes the tags, bu especially to those who're into TG. What Inters of Ecstasy Island lacked in fap material, I felt it made up for in the transgender segment.


Review by Lost
Version reviewed: 0.004 on 2016-09-30 23:13:00

This game is really well done - the art is pretty good, the writing is better, and the choices seem to be important, but they don't get ridiculously branching so that the game would never realistically be done.  Outstanding quality, decent length but it's so good that you get frustrated with what's there.


Review by kronkkrop
Version reviewed: 0.003 on 2016-09-09 02:48:48

At the moment this is my favourite game on the site.  The story is great, it's very well written (with the exception of some minor spelling mistakes but not very immersion breaking), well paced, and exceptionally entertaining.  While some of the choices in the game are somewhat railroady, the vast majority seem well placed and reasonable given the protagonists' personality and the game's theme.  The renders are sparsen but very well executed and help to broaden the scope of the scene.  

 

10/10 easily.  

 

I'll be watching this title for updates!


Review by drizzzit
Version reviewed: 0.002 on 2016-09-08 00:03:23

Remarkable game quality for second update.

I personally like the page design with text on the side rather than normal at the bottom.  Seemed easier to read and look back on recent paragraphs.  Part of the problem with this engine is its easy to miss things if the text gets a little long.  Having the abilty to read back is great.

 

Played through 3 7 times (god bless the skip) and noticed some good things:

1.  Some random changes/encounters (meeting a person on the boat) etc.  Didn't seem to have a circle back later.  Was interesting that it happened at all.  EDIT (took 6 play throughs but felt I needed to edit to say:  "Well played".)

 

<Mostly removed early review because it felt spoilery to me, and besides am now learning game is way more complex than I thought>

 

All in all, definately a must play.  Please continue!


Review by GateKeeper
Version reviewed: 0.002 on 2016-09-07 09:27:08

I finally took the time to play this game last night.  I'm glad that I did.

 

The game in its current form is text heavy (In a good way) and well written.  But what surprised me most was that it took me about an hour to play through from start to current end, which means there is a LOT of content.

 

The art work in the game is good, and spot on to what is going on in the story at any given time. 

 

My only complaints are that:

~Ssome places were picture heavy, while others felt neglected.  I hope that the author goes back at some point and adds a few more character pictures between key scenes as a way of making the game world feel a little less abandoned visually.

~Unlike most VN, this one has all its text in a sidebar (Nothing wrong with that) that when that side bar starts to get full and starts scrolling down, it can become a pretty staggering wall of text.  It would be nice to see that broken down a bit into smaller segments that feel more manageable at a glance.

 

Really enjoyed the game so far, and I'll be looking forward to picking it up again when there is a bit more content.  Keep up the good work.

 


Review by JenJen1989
Version reviewed: 0.002 on 2016-09-07 04:38:05

Great game so far. Can see much potential, well-written until now and hoping for much new content in the future.


Review by NMe
Version reviewed: 0.001 on 2016-08-26 17:15:31

This game is great so far. I usually avoid 0.001 (or similar) versions but in this case it doesn't reflect how fleshed out the game already is. The artwork is great, the story is well-written and believable and while all key points in the story (the TG bits, mostly) are the same in every playthrough, the way to get there can vary quite a bit. And even on a single playthrough: if you read everything it'll easily take you 20-30 minutes.


All in all this is a great interactive visual novel that I would love to see more of...and that is an accomplishment since I generally hate to play visual novels.

9/10. I'd give it a 10/10 if it was closer to being finished.


Review by comodo50
Version reviewed: 0.001 on 2016-05-26 22:18:24

I really, really loved this.

 

Hopefully you'll have more content soon, but, seeing how Ren'py games go, I think I'm in for a long wait, hopefully a fun one.


Review by Nerina
Version reviewed: 0.001 on 2016-05-22 20:33:09

Wow, what an absolutely fantastic first release! I hope this receives much support, I can see it growing to be absolutely incredible!


Review by bobbob9999
Version reviewed: 0.001 on 2016-05-22 19:57:28

Really enjoyed playing this.  Normally I get a little frustrated with a slow build up, and just want to get to the good stuff, but this was really enjoyable to play, and so shockingly disappointing with the sudden end I got.  I presume this was just a place holder until more content comes along.


Can't wait for more.  Super slick presentation and delightful graphics.


Review by Shouden
Version reviewed: 0.001 on 2016-05-22 18:46:09

I liked the beginning of it. But *spoilers* the ending I got felt rushed and was frustraiting. I don't know if it was a placeholder before more content, but..."it was all a dream and your boat is sinking" just...doesn't feel good.

 

But, other than that, it was pretty good.


Review by Gromelon
Version reviewed: 0.001 on 2016-05-22 17:06:21

Concept? Most betas don't have nearly as much content and quality of it. Writing, art, technical side of things - everything is of highest level. If author does not drop it, game is doomed to take a place on the very top with a very few others. This is the kind of quality you set up a justified Patreon for, an example for some authors who think that half-assed 10 minute long demo is enough to milk money.


Review by optimo
Version reviewed: 0.001 on 2016-05-22 13:26:15

Considering that the game is listed as 'concept' it is already very much enjoyable. The pacing is great and the production quality is top notch. Looking forward for more.


Review by Souldead341
Version reviewed: 0.001 on 2016-05-22 12:18:36

Note, this isn't actually a review, just pointing out that the download links are linux, mac, and windows in that order.